How to Apply to the Medical Cannabis Program
The New Mexico Deparment of Health (NMDOH) runs the Medical Cannabis Program (MCP) in the State of New Mexico. People interested in the MCP must submit a completed application. Below are the steps to apply for your medical cannabis card ...
The turn around time for completed applications is 30 days from the date it's received. Submit your application early to avoid delays!
Have your medical provider complete page 3 (clinical/diagnostic notes) of the MCP application.
*Any medical doctor (MD), doctor of osteopathy (DO), or nurse practitioner (NP) that can
prescribe medicine in New Mexico can write a referral for the Medical Cannabis Program.
Personal Production License (PPL)
A patient can acquire a production license, allowing them to grow their own medicine.
A $50 check or money order is required to replace a lost or stolen card.
Submit your license renewal application at least 60 days before the date of expiration of your current MCP card to allow for processing.
*Your MCP card must be renewed annually
Confidentiality & HIPAA
The program will only share information with state or local law enforcement agencies to verify that a patient or primary caregiver can legally have and use medical cannabis.
A HIPAA form is an authorization to disclose health information.
This form is good for 6 months unless otherwise stated.
Become a Caregiver
A caregiver is someone empowered by a patient to help the patient manage his/her medical care and medication.